Taco Seasoning

Lately I’ve been craving something spicy.  I have some ground turkey I need to use. Hmmm… Taco’s it is!

If you have ever made tacos, or even taco dip, you have probably seen the little seasoning packets used to flavor the meat.  When I first started cooking I used these frequently (we love tacos!).  As my  skills progressed, and my collection of spices grew, I realized I could easily make my own spice combination.  This allowed me to only use the exact flavors I enjoy, and leave out the extra unnecessary salt.  I use fresh onions, garlic, and a jalapeno plus 1 heaping tablespoon of this homemade taco seasoning for a package of chicken or ground turkey, but you can adjust for your preferences.

This recipe is super simple and quick, just combine all the ingredients in a bowl, mix together well, and store in an airtight container.

Taco Seasoning Ingredients

3 Tbsp Chili Powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

3/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

3/4 tsp dried oregano

1-1/2 tsps paprika

1 Tbsp and 1 tsp ground cumin

*I don’t include any salt or pepper in the recipe because I like to add them after cooking.  You can certainly add them while cooking.

Nutritional Benifits

Antioxidants and Phytochemicals! Red Pepper flakes, paprika, chili powder and Oregano are loaded with antioxidants.  Antioxidants may play a role in helping to prevent certain health conditions like cancer.

Low Sodium! By making your own spice mixtures you can control the amount of sodium.  This an especially great option if you are following a heart healthy diet.

Leave a Reply

