Farm Fresh Friday: A twist on a PB & J

Welcome to Michelle’s Kitchen’s very first Farm Fresh Friday post! From now on, every Friday will be a Farm Fresh Friday and I will share with you a recipe made from ingredients that I picked up at the farmers market.

In honor of yesterday being National Eat Your Veggies Day,  my friend Elisa joined me to pick out some produce.  She even brought her camera!

Yes, my hair is in my face but you get the idea :)

There I am (with my awesome nutrition insulated lunch bag) buying some tomatoes from my favorite organic stand!  I also purchased some Michigan asparagus, strawberries, and raspberries.  Elisa brought home some fabulous looking zucchini and yellow summer squash.

I was pretty hungry when I arrived at the market so by the time I got home I was ready to dig in! Since the raspberries were nice and ripe and they tend to go bad quickly, I new they would be the first thing on my plate!

Before we eat, let me give you some background info on my inspiration for this meal.  Recently I was caught up in a Facebook conversation about peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  One person mentioned putting Fritos in the middle, another, Cheetos!  When I was a kid I would put regular potato chips in my PB & J’s. It is both sweet, salty, and crunchy. Have you ever done this or other combinations?

Anyway, after this conversation I was left craving a PB & J, only I didn’t have any bread… or jelly.

I did however, have whole wheat bagels and raspberries! (and I ALWAYS have PB!)

I toasted the bagel then quickly topped with peanut butter.  I like Skippy’s All Natural.  While the PB melted, I scooped some raspberries into a small bowl and smashed them with a fork.   The raspberry mess went on top for a unique PB & J.  I enjoyed this with a nice cup of iced green tea with lemon

.

Nutritional Benefits

Whole Grains! I chose to use a whole wheat bagel.  Bagels tend to be very large, so I typically only eat 1/2 of one at a time.  It is filling and I feel like I am getting more servings of food for my money.

Protein! Peanut butter is an excellent choice of protein.  2 Tablespoons of my Skippy all natural creamy has 7 grams.

Healthy(ier) Fats! The reason I choose the all natural peanut butter is because it has no trans fats. Trans fats increase the bad undesirable cholesterol and decrease the good desirable cholesterol.

Vitamins and Minerals! Raspberries are high in Vitamin C!

Leave a Reply

