Farm Fresh Friday: Sugar Snap Peas and Scallops

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to go to my hometown and visit with some family.  While I was there I stopped at Husted’s Market and loaded up on some produce.  One of the best things I got were these sugar snap peas…

Sugar snap peas are so good! They are sweet and crunchy and if you break one in half, it makes a loud “SNAP”!  I actually really enjoy eating these raw as a snack, just like you might baby carrots.  Because I had so many though, I wanted to incorporate them into a meal.  Something with an Asian flair… and scallops.  I love scallops.  I had this recipe for a small lunch but you can make it a bigger meal by serving it with brown rice.  My recipe was adapted from this one at yumsugar.

Sugar Snap Peas and Scallops

2 Tablespoons canola oil

1 cup of small bay scallops

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 small yellow onion

2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger root

1 quart sugar snap peas

1 Tablespoon low sodium stir fry sauce or low sodium soy sauce

Juice from 1 lime

1. Heat the canola oil in a frying pan until hot, add in the scallops, sprinkle with salt and pepper, cook until they begin to brown.  Set aside.

2. Turn heat to low-medium and add the onion to the pan.  Cook until browned.  Stir in the fresh ginger root and sugar snap peas. Cook about 5 minutes.  Peas will be cooked, but still crispy.

3. Add the scallops back into the pan.  Stir in sauce, and lime juice.

Nutritional Benifits

Protein! Scallops are a good low-fat source of protein

Vitamins and Minerals! Scallops are high in selenium and B vitamins, Sugar Snap peas are high in Vitamin K, Vitamin A, and Iron!

So this meal is great for vegetarians who eat seafood!

Leave a Reply

