Container Garden Update + Easy Guacamole

Last night after a long day at work, I decided to go out and buy the move Julie & Julia.  I loved it! I watched it with a nice big bowl of popcorn in my lap and a glass of wine on the side.  It was the perfect relaxing night I needed!  However, the movie was a bit longer than I expected, so when it ended decided to sleep on the couch.  When I woke up this morning, I opened up the shades and looked out on my porch at my container garden.

Since I last posted about the garden, my tomato plant has gotten HUGE! There are 3 very small green tomatoes! I am so excited!

My bell peppers are also doing well and are starting to grow! I love the white flowers!

The chocolate mint plant looks great too! (and taste great!)

Unfortunately, not everything I planted is doing as well.

The basil is surviving, but it looks like something is eating it.  Not sure how much longer it will last.

I actually lost my strawberry plant Father’s Day weekend when I was out of town and the temperature got really hot.  The poor thing just dried right up, even though I watered it right before I left.

The cilantro was hit pretty bad too.  Most of the leaves were turning yellow, and my attempts to bring it back weren’t working. So I decided my project for today was to get rid these plants.  The cilantro still had some good leaves left so I trimmed those off and set them aside.

Once I finished the job, it was just about lunch time and I knew exactly what to use the remaining cilantro leaves in…

Guacamole!  When I make guacamole I make it very simply.  It important to note that when making very simple recipes, the quality of the individual ingredients makes all the difference.

Easy Guacamole

1 ripe Avocado

1/4 cup fresh spicy salsa*

2 Tbsp chopped onion

1 Tbsp chopped cilantro

juice from 1 lime

Pinch of black pepper

In a medium bowl, mash all of the ingredients together with a fork.  It is that simple!  Learn how to cut into an avocado from this e-how video. Use the guacamole as a dip with tortilla chips, or as a spread on a turkey sandwich.  Get creative with it!  What is your favorite non-traditional way to use guacamole?

*I like using the Garden Fresh Gourmet brand because it is fresh.  It is not cooked, like the salsa which comes in the jars.

Nutritional Breakdown

Healthy Fats! You may have heard that avocado’s are high in fat, but that is no reason to avoid them.  Avocados are full of monounsaturated fats.  Both mono- and polyunsaturated fats may help lower your blood cholesterol level when used in place of saturated and trans fats.  Aim for fat intake to be between 25-35% of your daily calories.

Vitamins and Minerals! Avocados provide nearly 20 essential nutrients, including potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid.


Sources:

California Avocado Commission.  http://www.avocado.org/nutrition.

American Heart Association.  http://www.americanheart.org/presenter.jhtml?identifier=532#polymono.

2 thoughts on “Container Garden Update + Easy Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Container Gardening: Mint, Basil, and Green Peppers | Michelle's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Goodbye Michigan « Michelle's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

