Farm Fresh Friday: I’m Back and I Brought Roasted Summer Veggies!

Hello Hello!

Check out my newly updated pickling cucumber post. That’s right I finally have pictures!

Yesterday was the Mount Pleasant farmers market.  Unfortunately, in my excitement over a phone interview (that seems to have gone well), I completely forgot until it was too late.  Luckily, in the previous weeks I did make it to the market and came home with tons of summer squash and zucchini.  I think I had some blueberries too! Yum!

With my out of state move approaching quickly (only 3 more weeks in Michigan! Yikes!) I am forced to get a bit creative in the kitchen.  I’m trying to use up the lasts portions of boxes of pasta, bags of rice, and quinoa.

Fortunately, summer squash and zucchini are easy to work with, and go well with so many things.   A former professor recommended I throw them on the grill with some olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme.  While this sounded fantastic, I am not (yet) the proud owner of a grill.  So to the oven it was, for some roasted summer veggies!



I would hardly call this meal a recipe.  I simple chopped up large pieces of yellow summer squash, zucchini, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, red onion, and added a pressed bulb of garlic.  I didn’t measure, just used what I had.  Toss them with olive oil and a pinch of salt and pepper each and cook in a preheated oven at 450 degrees F until tender.

The best part about this meal is the flexibility.  Try using asparagus and mushrooms instead of bell peppers.  I’ll bet some fresh corn off the cob would be a great addition! Not only can you change up the veggies based on what you have on hand, or what is in season, but you serve it over a great many things.  I can easily use up my brown rice, quinoa, and pasta with this meal.  This particular time I served it over orzo, with a splash of olive oil and fresh lemon juice.  Yum! You can even switch up the herbs, add in fresh basil, thyme, cilantro!

Make it a complete meal by adding some protein.  Try some marinated baked or grilled chicken, or some cannelloni beans or chickpeas.

The bottom line: Get Creative! How do you serve roasted summer veggies?

Nutritional Breakdown

Zucchini and yellow summer squash are both members of the cucurbita family.  Both are high in water content and contain very few calories.  Most of the nutrients are contained in the skin, so wash your squash, but don’t peel it! These nutrients include folate, potassium, vitamin A, and vitamin C.

Bell Peppers come in a range of colors, and all are extremely healthy choices.  They are very high in the antioxidants Vitamin C and A.  They also are a source of folic acid, Vitamin B6, and lycopene.

Onions are also a good source of Vitamin C and B6.


Vegetables are always a good choice! Look for bright and deep colors  and pair them with complex complex carbohydrates (like brown rice!) and a lean protein for a nutritionally balanced meal.

2 thoughts on “Farm Fresh Friday: I’m Back and I Brought Roasted Summer Veggies!

  1. Michelle – we make the summer veggies all the time. In fact that is what we had for dinner last night. I like to put home grown roma tomatoes in ours along with the onion, bell pepper, summer squash, and zucchini. I also put in fresh minced garlic, tyme, basil, and italian parsley all from my herb garden. I then garnish it with some freshly grated parmesean – yummy! It is like eating pasta for dinner but without all of the carbs and calories!!

    • Hi Aunt Mary! Thanks for commenting! I wish all of these things were in season year long, I could eat this every night! I’m jealous of your herb garden… my basil didn’t do very well this year.

Leave a Reply

