Spinach Banana Smoothie

Yes, you read that right, I said spinach… in a smoothie!

Now, you might respond like my sister did, by saying “eww!” but I’m asking you to give it a try.  As Jacob, the sometimes picky boyfriend said, “it’s pretty tasty!”  If he approves, you might too.

Even though we only have 13 more days left in Mount Pleasant, we still have a freezer full of food, including an unopened bag of chopped spinach.  I’ve heard of green smoothies before, but was a little hesitant about how they might taste.  My usual strawberry-banana smoothies include a big scoop of chocolate Ovaltine, not spinach.  But I am a curious cook with a bag of spinach to use up, so I searched the web for “spinach smoothies” and then came up with my own concoction, and it’s a must try!

Spinach Banana Smoothie

1 banana, broken into chunks

1/2 cup frozen chopped spinach

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

1/4 cup soy milk (I used vanilla Silk)

Place all ingredients in blender and puree until smooth.  Pour into your favorite smoothie glass and enjoy!

Next time I’m thinking about adding a few things, maybe some rolled oats or flax seed.  Well, what do you think?  Are you ready to try a green smoothie? Yes, it does have a spinach taste, but it’s not very strong, so don’t be afraid!

Nutritional Benefits

Most of us don’t think about including vegetable into our breakfast routine, but this smoothie makes it easy.  Spinach provides vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, folate, magnesium and fiber while bananas provide potassium, vitamin C, Magnesium, and Fiber.   The greek yogurt and soy milk add protein and calcium.

7 thoughts on “Spinach Banana Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Goodbye Michigan « Michelle's Kitchen

  2. Michelle, try using fresh spinach instead. Also try adding another fruit! I never, ever taste the spinach in my smoothies. I have a bunch of different kinds listed on my blog, so if you go to the tag on the side that says “SIAB” you might get some ideas. I’m glad, though, that your first attempt was such a success!

    • Thanks for the comment Kaitlin! I think it would be great with fresh spinach and will definitely try it sometime! For now though I just need to use up the frozen spinach before I move. I could tell there was spinach there, but the taste was very mild and enjoyable. I’ll have to check out your recipes! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

