Goodbye Michigan

Since I last wrote about my experiments with spinach in a smoothie I have been keeping very busy!  I’d like to update you on some of the things I’ve been up to.  I’ve even got a killer recipe for you!

When I wrote about that green smoothie I was trying to use up some frozen spinach before my big move from Mount Pleasant, Michigan to Williamsburg, Virginia.  In the following weeks I continued to try to use up my food supply which resulted in some interesting meals.

I also picked up a free squash and some cucumbers from the break room at work.  I was pretty excited about that.  But not quite as excited as I was when I picked this…

Thats right, my tomato plant produced a tomato! Actually, it produced two tomatoes.  A while back I posted an update on how I had 3 small green tomatoes on the plant.  Well, things weren’t going so great.  I kept watering and watering that darn plant but the little green tomatoes stayed that way, very little and very green.

After about 3 weeks of this I just gave up.  I figured, we were moving soon and I would just toss the plant.  I didn’t want to bring it with me and couldn’t wait for the tomatoes to grow any bigger.    But the boyfriend Jacob didn’t like this idea and decided the tomato plant was now his.  He continued to water it everyday.

And of course, it worked.  The little green tomatoes turned into little red tomatoes.

The whole time this was going on I was continuing to care for my bell pepper plants.  The plant wasn’t doing that great, but I did get two smaller sized green peppers from it.  This was my most successful container garden yet!

My last day of work in Mount Pleasant was August 4th, and I took advantage of the few days I had off before moving to visit some family in Kalamazoo, MI.  The food we had was incredible.  August is such a great time for fresh local food in Michigan!  There was fresh corn on the cob, peaches, blueberries, watermelon, fresh homemade salsa and peach pie.

Husted's Market Michigan Produce (HustedFarmMarket.com)

My favorite dish was something called Cowboy Caviar.  It has avocado in it.  I’ll eat anything with avocado in it.  (see recipe below).  Unfortunately, there wasn’t any left to take home, but I did snag some corn off the cob.

Once back in Mount Pleasant, I got a little creative with the corn.  I added some leftover salsa from the fridge, 1/2 a can of black beans, my chopped up homegrown green bell peppers, and my little red tomatoes.  Perfection!

The next few days were spent packing and preparing for the move.  Who knew I had so much stuff!  We left Michigan August 11th and arrived in Virginia late Thursday August 12.   It was a long, but beautiful drive.

I’ll be posting soon about what life is like in Williamsburg, including some pic’s of my sweet new kitchen!  For now though, enjoy some Cowboy Caviar…

Aunt Mary’s Cowboy Caviar

1 can black beans

1 can corn (or use fresh or frozen)

4 Avocados, pitted peeled and chunked

6 large Roma Tomatoes

1/2 bunch fresh cilantro

2 limes, juiced

3 tsp Tabasco

4 cloves garlic, minced

Salt and Pepper to taste (it is great without too!)

Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl and gently toss.  Serve with unsalted tortilla chips for a delicious snack (or if your like me, meal)!

5 thoughts on “Goodbye Michigan

  1. Pingback: Container Gardening: Mint, Basil, and Green Peppers | Michelle's Kitchen

  2. I am so jealous that you got your tomatoes to grow! I have always had a black thumb and anything I try to grow always dies on me.

    I really regret never getting back to you about having lunch before you moved away! Life just got extremely overwhelming in July and I lost all track of time. I hope that you made it safely to VA and got moved in to your new place with no problems! Maybe sometime next year I can come out and visit you :)

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, I love reading your blog as well!
    I tried to line my spices up on the counter, but there is hardly any counter space as it is… I told Brent for our next apartment I want three kitchens, and one bedroom… most apartments just don’t give a good enough kitchen. :)

    • Thanks Heather, though I have to give Jake the credit since I gave up on the tomatoes!

      No worries about lunch, I understand, and I was crazy busy too. Things are going pretty well here in VA, I’d love for you to come visit!

      Three kitchens sounds great! Who needs all those other rooms, right?! :) The kitchen is the best part of my place here in VA, I’m hoping to post some pics and a post later tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

