Farm Fresh Friday: Peach Salsa + Grocery Shopping

Guess what?

MY FRIDGE IS WORKING!

Sorry, I am a little excited about it.

Monday, my landlord sent over a repair company to check it out.  Turns out, the fan in the back was clogged… whatever that means.  All I know is that I can go grocery shopping now!  And that is exactly what I did Monday night!

We have a couple of grocer options here in Williamsburg, but I am most excited about two of them, Martins and Trader Joe’s.  Martin’s is pretty awesome, it has a huge produce selection, a cafe, a salad bar, a sushi bar, and at least two aisles dedicated to natural and organic products.  They also carry quite a bit of local food, which is great!  It is where we will be doing most of our shopping.

I have always been curious about Trader Joe’s.  I have heard good things about the one in Ann Arbor, Michigan, but never had a chance to check it out.  The store here isn’t all that large, and the produce department isn’t all that impressive but they definitely carry some unique products.  I’m currently obsessing over their Chipotle Pepper Hummus! I just wish I could buy an extra large container of it! It has a bit of a kick and is awesome on a veggie wrap.

Even with these great food options I have gotten curious about the local Farmers Market situation.  I heard rumor that there is an awesome one downtown near Colonial Williamsburg, so I got online and did a little searching.  I found out that this Market does indeed exist, that they have their own website, a Facebook page, and I can follow them on Twitter! Now that is my kind of Market!  It sounds like the market occurs Tuesdays and Saturdays.  Tomorrow is Saturday, and I can’t wait to go check it out!

So until then I’m going to leave you with a peach salsa recipe that I shared on Impact Dash.  Martin’s actually offers quite a bit of local produce, so I haven’t been missing out too much! Read my article to learn more about Martin’s selection and peaches!

2 thoughts on “Farm Fresh Friday: Peach Salsa + Grocery Shopping

Leave a Reply

