Farm Fresh Friday: Patty Pan Squash

It’s Friday, and I’m excited because it’s time for me to tell you all about my experience at the  Williamsburg Farmers Market!  The market takes place right downtown colonial Williamsburg practically on the campus of William and Mary, which is beautiful in it’s own right! It’s located on a quaint street commonly referred to as DOG, or Duke of Gloucester.  The road was lined with venders on both sides and behind the vendors were little shops, and a few restaurants that I can’t wait to eat at!  The middle of the street was filled with people.  People with dogs, people with kids, and people with armfuls of fresh fruits and veggies!

Although, it isn’t too much larger than the market back in Mount Pleasant, it was a little bit overwhelming at first.  Back in Michigan, I knew exactly which venders had the best stuff, and even knew some of them by name.  Here at the Williamsburg market, I know no one.  So I took a stroll.  I walked up and back down the street, checking out every stand to see what they had to offer.  There was a Chef’s tent with a cooking demo, some fresh seafood, homemade soaps, fresh baked goods, a stand for the “serious chocolate lover”, several organic fruits and veggie stands (yay!), homemade cheeses, and live music.  The variety of things to purchase at this market is impressive.  There was a great sense of community and culture and I soon felt right at home.  I turned around and went back to make my purchases without any recipes in mind.  The ambiance must have gotten to me because I  just started buying everything that looked good!  I picked up things that looked interesting, and pretty with no real plan for using them.

I brought home some green beans, colorful bell peppers, raspberries, 2 different varieties of eggplant, some super sweet orange cherry tomatoes and some patty pan squash.  The raspberries were consumed almost immediately as I sat and looked over my ingredients and wondered what I would make with them.  Wednesday, I posted about how I used the green beans in a vegetarian bean salad.

The cherry tomatoes were snacked on throughout the week.  They were by far the sweetest tomatoes I’ve ever tasted! Eggplant is something that I’m not quite as familiar with.  I opened up my On Cooking food/culinary bible to learn a little more about it.  Turns out I purchased what is known as japanese eggplant.  I flipped around a little more in the book and found a recipe for ratatouille.  Basically, it’s just eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, onions, garlic, and bell peppers sauteed together.  It was fantastic!  But the recipe I want to share with you today is actually much more simple, and it has to do with those fun looking patty pan squashes I bought.

How cute are they?  I only bought them because they were cute.  I’d heard of them before, but I had no idea how to use them.  After a little bit of googling I discovered they can come in different colors like green, yellow, or white (like mine!), they can be eaten raw just like you would zucchini, and you can eat the whole thing, no need to remove any skin or seeds!  Since this was a new food, I wanted to serve them as simple as possible so that I could taste all of their flavor.  So I decided to roast them with some fresh thyme leftover from the bean salad dish.

Roasted Patty Pan Squash

2 patty pans

olive oil

fresh thyme to taste

Salt and Pepper to taste

Wash the patty pan squash, and trim off any rough spots.  Slice into bite size segments following the natural scalloped edge. Toss with a drizzle of olive oil, an herb such as thyme and salt and pepper to taste.  Roast in a very hot oven until tender, and starting to brown.

So, are you ready to give patty pan squash a try?  or is it already a staple in your summer diet? I’ve heard there are really really small ones too! Can’t wait until I can get my hands on those!!  Maybe tomorrows farmer’s market will have some cool new finds…

Have a Happy Holiday Weekend!

Pattypan Squash on FoodistaPattypan Squash

6 thoughts on “Farm Fresh Friday: Patty Pan Squash

  1. Pingback: Gluten-free Low Carb Pattypan Squash Crustless Pizza Recipe | Book of Yum

  2. I have never seen patty pan squash and would of done the same thing, bought them because they are cute. And you don’t have to take seeds out? Going to have to look for these cuties now that squash season is starting up. Thanks for something new to try.

Leave a Reply

