Snack Time: Fall Flavored Popcorn

I’ve been feeling especially fall-like lately, craving cozy sweaters, hot cups of chai tea, pumpkin muffins, and fresh crispy apples.  Accounts from my family and Facebook friends tell me the weather had definitely cooled down for awhile back in Michigan, with highs of only 65.  Here in, VA though, it’s still hot and humid, with a highs near 92.  I don’t think I’ll be reaching for that sweater anytime soon! I shouldn’t really complain though, I like warm weather, and this only means that the winter here will be much more mild, with an average January low of 28 F (which just so happens to be the average January high in MI).

Ninety degree weather or not, all this cool weather  talk has me craving fall flavors, and it’s September after all!  So I thought I would compromise, and make something snacky that reminds me of fall, but won’t over heat me either…

Popcorn!

I’m a big fan of snacking.  I typically eat 3 snacks a day, mid-morning, afternoon, and evening.  Yes, I eat something 1 or 2 hours before bed, because I absolutely cannot sleep on an empty stomach!  Snacking often gets a bad rap, but the key is in choosing the right food, and home popped popcorn is a great choice.  It is low in calories and full of fiber, so it keeps you satisfied.

If you have never popped your own popcorn before I urge you to give it a try! While I’m sure there are some decent microwave varieties out there, nothing beats being able to completely control your salt content and toppings.  Plus doing it yourself is fun!  Here’s how…

In a deep pot, heat 3 tablespoons of Canola oil over medium to high heat.  After a few minutes add just a couple of popcorn kernals.  Once these kernels pop, add 3/4 cup of kernels to the pot and cover.  Shake the pan back and forth every once and awhile. Turn the heat off or remove from the heat completly, once the popping sounds start to slow down (couple of seconds between pops).  Don’t let it burn! This whole process shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes.

Transfer you popcorn to your favorite big bowl, (pop in your movie!) and get ready to be creative!  I was feeling fall like, so I sprinkled mine with some cinnamon sugar, and a pinch of salt.  Cinnamon always reminds me of fall.  If you like kettle corn you have to give this a try!

or try these topping ideas:

– Cheese! Sprinkle with some freshly grated parmesan.

– I’ve heard good things about nutritional yeast (I have yet to try it, but hear it has a cheesy taste!)

Taco seasoning gives a bit of a kick

– as does Paprika

– garlic powder is good if you’re a garlic lover like me… don’t add too much though!

– or try the basic but delicious salt and black pepper

 

Are you ready to give it a try? Have any other topping ideas? Are you as excited for fall as I am? I’m already dreaming up lots of good pumpkin recipes to share! Can’t wait!

 

Popcorn on FoodistaPopcorn

One thought on “Snack Time: Fall Flavored Popcorn

  1. As you probably know, I LOVE popcorn!! Cinnamon on popcorn is one of my favorites, and nutritional yeast. I recently tried a cheddar powder from a spice store in our neighborhood. It was fabulous, and sodium free. I plan on buying some soon.

    So, you like baby carrots on their own?? I wish I did!! I Have to have something to dip them in…

Leave a Reply

