Quiche on Sunday

I’ve made an important decision.

Now that I have weekends, I’m going to cook something special on Sundays.  Breakfast, lunch, or dinner, I just want to make a habit of taking time to cook enjoyable meals.  It is a relaxing way to try new recipes , it will be my “me time”.

This weekend I made vegetable quiche, more on that in a minute.

Have you noticed anything different about the blog?  I’ve spent the last month or so playing around with different themes and tossing around ideas.  The site is still a work in progress, but you will find more organization and a larger focus on nutrition, rather than cooking.  No worries though, I’ll still be sharing plenty of recipes!

At the top of the page, you can navigate through the links to learn more about the blog, access interesting food and nutrition blogs, and see what my favorite healthy food of the moment is.  Please let me know your thoughts on the updates, I want this site to be as useful to YOU as possible!

Now on to tastier things…

So I had my mind set on quiche this weekend for some reason.  Not the “quick-throw-together crustless-quiche thats more like baked scrambled eggs for dinner” that we normally have.  I wanted real quiche, with lots and lots of vegetables, melted cheese, and crust – whole wheat crust!  I followed this recipe.

I wish I was better at making pie crust, but I just haven’t mastered it yet.  Luckily, it’s not something I make very often and I found this at the grocery store:

I have to say, it was pretty good! Don’t worry, I’m not kidding myself.  Just because it is whole wheat doesn’t make it so called health-food, it is a pie crust after-all.  I started out by pre-baking the crust for about 15 minutes in a 400* F oven. Then I chopped all my veggies and sauteed them with some dried thyme. (Tip: add the garlic last so it won’t burn!).  The recipe I followed called for sweet onion, bell peppers, zucchini, and garlic.  It really reminds me of spring.  Maybe thats why I was craving it….

The other thing that really drew me to this recipe was that it called for 2 egg yolks, 2 egg whites and non-fat milk.  In my opinion, heavy whipping cream is only good for one thing, whipped cream!  I don’t need my quiche to be that heavy.  I actually ended up using 2% lactose-free milk, because they were out of skim at the store, and I’m okay with that.

I also used Mexican blend cheese because it’s what I had.  Use whatever you like best. And yes, I put the store bought crust in my pretty pie dish to make it look homemade.

We paired our Sunday quiche with a small side salad of romaine and cherry tomatoes and some grapes.  It was the perfect Sunday morning! I can’t wait until next weekend!

Question: Do you eat differently on the weekend than you do during the week?  Do you tend to indulge a little more, like we did?

Leave a Reply

