Lately I’m Loving: Crackers, Walnuts, and Oranges

I know, I missed the boat on the Valentines Day post.  I wanted to share with you these amazing chocolate strawberry muffins.  They are so yummy!

So, as soon as I thought I had the format set for this blog, WordPress went and added a new theme.   It was EXACTLY what I had been looking for, hence all the new changes on the site.  One of my favorite additions is to the very right of this post, it’s called ‘Lately  I’m Loving’.  So on this beautiful Sunday morning I though I share with you a few of my current ‘obsessions’.

1. Whole-Wheat Crackers

In the past I’ve always been a huge fan of triscuits.  Then the other week I found these at Martins…

What’s not to love! For about 8 crackers (30 grams) you get 120 calories, 0.5 grams of fat (monounsaturated), 170 mg Sodium, 3 grams of Fiber, and 4 grams of Protein. Plus there are only TWO ingredients: Whole-wheat and salt.  Triscuits also contain soybean and/or palm oil.

Compare with Triscuits

*If you can’t find the Nature’s Promise brand, Triscuits are still a better alternative than most crackers.

2. 100 Calorie-packs of Natural Walnuts and Almonds

I’ve never been a big fan of the 100 calorie pack.  Typically the kinds of foods in these packs are hardly desirable.  Lately though, I’ve become a big fan of Emeralds pre-packaged walnuts and almonds.  It’s easy to over-do it with portion size when snacking on nuts, and these packs prevent that.

Again, only two ingredients: Walnuts and Almonds.  These work great as a topping on my oatmeal or as an on the go snack.  They are a great source of Vitamin E and healthy polyunsaturated omega-3 fatty acids.

3. Oranges

This habit started about a week ago.  The oranges at work were looking particularly orange and appealing.   So I grabbed one, sliced it up and had with a salad for lunch.  Wow! I had forgotten how good oranges are! I’ve been eating them almost everyday.

Oranges are a good source of Vitamin C and dietary fiber.  Check out these Top 10 Ways to Enjoy Oranges.

Question: What foods are you Loving Lately?

2 thoughts on “Lately I’m Loving: Crackers, Walnuts, and Oranges

  1. Michelle I love the new set-up of your blog! It’s really great!
    I have been loving blood oranges lately :) I finally found some at the grocery store a couple weeks ago so I bought a little 2 lb bag. Have you ever tried them? I think they taste like a combo of grapefruit and oranges. I like them a lot more than regular oranges, plus they are pretty once they are peeled ;)

Leave a Reply

