Roasted Baby Broccoli

I’ve invented the new kale chip.  Roasted baby broccoli.

Fine, so I’m sure I didn’t actually invent it, but I sure did stumble on something pretty amazing on accident.  See, I’ve been on kick lately of trying new foods.  We tried a spring inspired farro dish.  I’ll definitely be looking for more ways to incorporate farro into our diet, it is safe to say it is Jacob approved! While grocery shopping about a week ago I stopped to admire the cute baby carrots.  not the every day ones I dip in peanut butter, but tiny “real-looking” carrots with the leaves still attached.  Anyway, the baby broccoli caught my attention, so I threw it in the cart.  It reminds me of a bouquet…

As it turns out, baby broccoli (also known as broccolini) is a cross between broccoli and kai-lan (a chinese broccoli).  If I had to compare it to another veggie, I’d say it reminded me of asparagus in texture with the long stalks.  The stalks were pleasantly sweet, and the crispy roasted florets reminding me of the popular kale chip in flavor.  I could have eaten all of it!  Warning: this stuff is good, just don’t over do it if you have some trouble digesting veggies like broccoli.

This recipe is super easy.  Wash and dry your broccolini.  Place in a single layer on a baking sheet.  Spray with olive oil or canola oil cooking spray.  Sprinkle lightly with salt, pepper, garlic powder or whatever you think sounds good.  Roast at 300* F for about 15 minutes or until the florets start to just turn a hint of brown and crispy. That’s it!

What do you think?  Have you ever seen baby broccoli at the store before?

Leave a Reply

