Lately I’m Loving: Granola, Tea, and Yogurt

Lately I can’t get enough hot tea, granola, or yogurt.  I haven’t necessarily been consuming them all at one meal, although as I typed that sentence, I’m thinking that might be breakfast tomorrow.

As a kid I really despised yogurt.  I couldn’t stand all the fruit on the bottom.  I started liking it when the yummy Yoplait Whips came out.  Since then though, my yogurt preferences have changed significantly.  My greek yogurt obsession started with Oikos Chocolate on the Bottom.  It makes a fantastic dessert at 110 calories, 10 grams of protein, and 16 grams of sugar per 4 oz container.  (When I look at the sugar content of yogurt, I look for at least less than 20 grams of sugar per container, the less the better).  I soon found myself searching for something basic, a versatile plain greek yogurt that could be eaten with sweet fresh fruit or chocolate, as a sour cream substitute, or in this killer tzatziki recipe.  That’s when I discovered FAGE.  Lately though, I’ve been craving a really good flavored yogurt.  Here’s the catch though, I really want a basic flavored yogurt, no crazy ingredients, no artificial sweeteners.  One of the many reasons I eat yogurt is for it’s probiotic factor.  I have a sensitive stomach and sometimes find those added ingredients don’t agree with me.

Last week I discovered Siggis.  Technically, Siggis is skyr, not greek yogurt.  Skyr is the traditional yogurt of Iceland, a super thick yogurt made from non-fat milk.  If you have never had thick, strained yogurt before you might want to ease into this slowly like I did, this stuff is no yoplait whips.  I am officially obsessed with this stuff.  I’ve only tried the vanilla and the Orange & Ginger flavors, but I love them both! Here’s the breakdown, 1 container (150 grams) is 100 calories, contains 14 grams of protein and only 9 grams of sugar.  I love that.  NINE grams of sugar… for flavored yogurt! The ingredient list is simple.  For the vanilla: Skim milk, Agave Nectar, Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla, Live Active Cultures, and Vegetable Rennet.

My second new love is a pretty great granola, Galaxy Granola.  If you like granola you need to try this. There is even an opportunity to win a free sample on their website.  Check it out!  Here is the breakdown for the Not Sweet Vanilla: 1/4 cup = 115 calories, 1.4 grams fat, 0 mg sodium, 4 grams fiber, 4 grams of protein.  This granola brags about how low in fat it is since it is baked in fruit (like applesauce) rather than oil.  I love that their website says “save the fat for dinner”.  There’s nothing wrong with including fats in the diet (especially the healthy ones), but I’d rather not get it from my granola.

Last but not least this week I’m really enjoying a nice warm cup of tea.  I know the weather is warming up, but I’ve been drinking at least two cups of this lemon ginger tea a day.

What foods/kitchen gadgets are you loving lately?         

Leave a Reply

