Farmers Market on Saturday, Whole Wheat Pancakes on Sunday

Dear Sunday mornings: I love you.

I’m excited to share the recipe for these whole wheat strawberry-banana pancakes, but first I want to tell you about Saturday.  Saturday mornings have quickly become my favorite time of the week.  Now that the sun is rising early (yay!) I wake up on my own around 5:45 am.  I grab a quick snack like a banana, make my bed, do a little quick cleaning up, and head out for a crisp 7 AM run at the trail.

After a solid 4-6 miles, I wipe of my face and start driving to Starbucks.  Usually the line is a bit long but it’s worth the wait.  “Yes, hi!  I’ll have my double tall soy latte today please, Thank you!”  At about 9:00 am I arrive at Merchant’s Square, between the College of William and Mary and Colonial Williamsburg.  I grab my re-usable tote, my half-full latte and make my way through the crowd to the Farmers Market.  The market isn’t for everyone, it’s busy, people bring their dogs, there’s live music.  I feel right at home.  Here are my top 3 tips for making the best of a trip to the Farmers Market:

  1. Arrive Early – beat the crowd, get the good stuff!
  2. Be Friendly – get to know your venders, be a preferred customer
  3. Ask Questions – wondering where the strawberries are coming from? How to cook brocollini? What that funny looking vegetable is? Ask!
Here’s what I managed to bring home this weekend: Asparagus, spring onions, fresh spinach, 2 quarts of first-of-the-season strawberries, hydroponic tomatoes, and local eggs.
Anyway, all of this inspired me to make today’s breakfast: fried eggs, whole wheat pancakes topped with strawberries.  I’ve expirementd with whole wheat pancakes in the past, and these are my favorite so far.  Have at it!
Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes
recipe adapted from: No Fear Entertaining 
Dry Ingredients:
2 cups white whole wheat flour
2 Tbsp baking powder
2 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp cinnamon (optional)
Wet Ingredients:
1 medium/small mashed banana
2 eggs
1 3/4 cups buttermilk
4 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
Directions:
In a large bowl whisk together the dry ingredients.  In a medium bowl whisk together the wet ingredients.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients until just moist.  Cook on a griddle or non-stick frying pan.  Serve with sliced fresh strawberries, maple syrup, fried eggs, or whatever sounds great to you.
Don’t Forget: Mother’s Day is just around the corner :)
2 thoughts on “Farmers Market on Saturday, Whole Wheat Pancakes on Sunday

  1. Wow- all of this it looks so impressive!! Your food photos are excellent temptations to make me want to make whole wheat pancakes!! Looks like a great recipe!!

    • Thanks! I’ll make you some belated Mother’s Day Pancakes when I’m home in a few weeks :)

      PS. These make a great on the go leftover breakfast: pop in the toaster, spread with some almond butter.

Leave a Reply

