Pan Seared Mahi-Mahi Fish Tacos with Jicama Slaw and Cilantro Sauce

I’ve blabbed on about my Saturday morning routine before.  However, here’s what I’ve left out: after I get home from the farmer’s market, Jake and I sit down and plan meals for the week.  It usually looks a little something like this….

  • Saturday: Sandwiches with fresh fruit
  • Sunday: Chicken + starch + veggie
  • Monday: Leftover chicken – usually with hummus and veggies in a wrap
  • Tuesday: Some kind of vegetarian/farmer’s market inspired dish
  • Wednesday: Eggs (scrambled, fried, omelets, etc.)
  • Thursday: Something with ground turkey… usually turkey burgers or turkey tacos
  • Friday: Something with leftover turkey… sometimes spaghetti

I’ve tried menu planning in the past but have always gotten frustrated.  Jake and I eat very differently.  We’ve been doing the menu planning thing together for about a month now.  This basic format seems to work well, and we are both pretty happy.  I save the too many “weird” ingredients, “Michelle only” dishes for my lunches.  Still, I like some variety in my diet, so I’ve got a little bored with our dinners.  Enter: Fish Taco’s.

I’m so excited that we tried these! I’ve heard of fish taco’s before, but I was always a little put off by the idea.  Once I started checking out different recipes though, I started getting inspired.  The best part: Jake likes them too!! I think these would make a great Father’s Day Dinner.

Step One: Cilantro Yogurt Sauce 

I knew I wanted Cilantro in this dish, but it wasn’t until I actually started putting ingredients together that I knew how to include it.  Using greek yogurt gives a sour cream like feel, but somehow seems lighter.  Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap or lid, set aside in the refrigerator. Time to prepare: 5 minutes.

Ingredients
1 container FAGE Greek Yogurt (0% or 2%)
1 bunch of cilantro, finely chopped
1 garlic glove, smashed into a paste
Juice from 1 lime (lemon works too)
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt and Pepper to taste

Step Two: Jicama Slaw

If you have never had Jicama before, this is the dish to try it in! It is crispy, juicy, and sweet. Texture wise, it reminds me a little of an apple or potato.  I found Jicama at my grocery store near the fresh herbs, and organic veggies.  Chop up all the ingredients and mix them with the lime juice, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups jicama, peeled and small diced
1/3 cup red bell pepper
1/3 cup orange bell pepper
1/3 cup green bell pepper
1/4 cup red onion
1/4 cup corn (frozen, defrosted works fine!)
juice from 1 fresh lime
salt and pepper to taste

Step Three: Pan Seared Mahi-Mahi

You really have several fish options: tilapia, halibut, cod.  They all work, I just prefer Mahi-Mahi and can find it fresh at my grocery store.  I wasn’t too sure how I wanted to season the fish, so I went rummaging through my spice collection when I found this: Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime.  Perfect!!  If you don’t have Mrs. Dash, try a mix of these spices: Cumin, Sweet Chili Pepper, Paprika, Cayenne Pepper, Black Pepper, Oregano, Basil, Bay, Marjoram, Thyme, Savory Coriander, Mustard, Rosemary, Garlic, Onion, and some of the rind from a lime.

Drizzle the olive oil over the fish, sprinkle with spices, massage in.  Heat your pan over medium heat, spray so the fish won’t stick.  Pan sear until fish is flaky.  Careful not to over cook.

Ingredients
Mahi-Mahi or other white fleshed fish
Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime or similar seasonings
Olive Oil
Splash of lime juice (optional)

Step Four: Add Avocado, Corn Tortillas, Eat up!!

These were so yummy (and we were so hungry!) that I didn’t get any pics!  I’ll be making these again and again no doubt, so I’ll be sure to update this post!

Happy Fathers Day!

Last Year: Father’s Day Strawberry Shortcake

Leave a Reply

