Chilled Corn Soup with Roasted Red Peppers

I’ve spent the last week recovering from traveling.  Yes, it takes me a full week.  Thursday July 28th I flew home to Michigan for 4 days to visit with friends and family and attend my cousins wedding reception.  It was a great trip.

On Friday I met up with a good college friend in Lansing.  For lunch we stopped at a yummy seafood restaurant followed by dessert at the Michigan State University dairy store.  Seriously, best ice cream ever.  Mine had chocolate covered graham cracker pieces and marshmallows! Megan’s had swirls of blue frosting! So worth the long line.

On Saturday, I still managed to still get in my routine.  I got up early for a run, then stopped at Husted’s Market with my dad for some peaches and blueberries.

Later that evening, I caught up with extended family at the reception.  It was a great time with great food! Congrats Scott and Felicia!

The happy couple!

With Mom - eating our vegetables!

Cousins catching up - talking corn soup, nutrition, and med-school

Knowing my love for food, my cousin Jeff (above, who also worked out at Husted’s Market) shared with me a recipe for cold corn soup he’d recently made.  It’s a cold, creamy, and refreshing version with yogurt, mint, and cucumber.  I’ve craved soup lately (weird) so I knew I’d be making this.

After taking my week to recover, this Saturday I made sure to pick up all the ingredients.  Only thing is,  I was really craving roasted red peppers.  I don’t know why.  I’ve never even made them before.  Turn’s out,  they are really easy and really good in chilled corn soup.

Step One: Roasted Red Peppers

Ingredients: 2 medium red bell peppers

1. Pre-heat oven to 450* F
2. Wash and dry peppers, place on baking sheet lined with tin foil
3. Roast on middle rack in oven for about 30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes or so.  The peppers will start to char.
4.  When done, immediately place in a closed brown paper bag, to help loosen the skin, for about 5 minutes.
5. Remove skin and seeds.  I just used my hands.  Don’t rinse, we want to keep that flavor!

Step Two: Blanched Corn

Ingredients: 5 ears of corn, husked; salt

1. While the peppers roast, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
2. While waiting, husk the corn, leaving a handle at the end.  I like to also cut off the tip so that it stand nicely (see picture above).
3.  Once the water is boiling, cook the corn for 5-7 minutes.
4. Optional: While cooking, prepare an ice bath (water + ice) in a large bowl.  Cool the cooked cobs here for easier handling. This also stops the cooking process.
5. Cut the corn off the cob, set aside.
6. Set aside 3 cups of the corn water

Step Three: Make Soup

Ingredients:
6 small shallots roughly chopped
1 Tbs. butter
Corn
Roasted red peppers roughly chopped
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
3 cups Corn Water
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup milk
Cilantro, chopped

1. Rinse and dry large pot used to cook corn.  Heat butter over medium heat.
2. Sauté shallots until translucent.
3.  Add corn, roasted red pepper, and spices to pot. Cook for about 3 minutes.
4.  Add 2 cups corn water, chicken broth and milk.  Simmer gently for about 15 minutes.
5. Transfer to food processor, or blender and puree.  Add corn water as needed to reach desired texture.
6. Chill in refrigerator for several hours.
7. When ready to serve, stir in chopped cilantro. Enjoy!

QUESTION: Are you doing any traveling this summer?  How do you eat healthy while away from home?

7 thoughts on “Chilled Corn Soup with Roasted Red Peppers

  1. I’m such a bad follower, I didn’t realize you posted about our trip! And I love that you took a picture of the chalkboard at the Dairy Store. Best ice cream ever, and definitely a great birthday treat to spend the afternoon with you!

  2. Michelle,
    Your blog is wonderful! These recipes look absolutely delicious. I’ll have to share some of the other healthy recipes Jeff and I make throughout the different harvest seasons as we come up with them this year :)
    Ornella

    • Hi Ornella! Thanks for the compliment, glad you were able to check out the blog! I’d love to hear about some of the other healthy recipes you two make. I believe you made a pretty awesome soup for Thanksgiving at one point ;)

  3. This sounds SO good! I’m going to have to get the ingredients this week and make it :) Have you make any other chilled soups before? Any good recipes?

    • Thanks Emily! This is my first chilled soup experience! I was going to try an avocado/cucumber version some time, but my food mood’s got to be right for that! :) I’ll let you know if I try anything else.

Leave a Reply

