Lazy Birthday Cheesecake

Whew! What a blur the past month has been.  But It’s official, I submitted my dietetic internship (DI) applications.  In order to become a Registered Dietitian, one must first complete an internship. I feel relieved to have the applications submitted, but so nervous at the same time! Now it’s just a waiting game until November 6th (match day).  Until then, I’ll be studying my time away for the Dietetic Technician, Registered exam and researching graduate school options (girls gotta have a back up plan, right?).  

Well, in other (less stressful) news, today is my birthday! I seriously can’t believe I’m 26.  I know, I know, it’s still young, but I’m officially in my “late-twenties” and the way time is flying lately, 30 will be here before I know it.  Somehow I managed to get the day off of work;  I can’t remember the last time that happened!  So to celebrate, I’m taking it easy: lounging in my PJ’s and drinking coffee, casually reading the news instead of listening to NPR during my 45 min. commute, and waiting for Jacob to wake up.  I’m hoping we will go check out this sandwich/cheese shop in Merchant Square for lunch (I’ve heard good things!).

I’ve requested homemade cheesecake for tonight.  I’m not too interested in regular birthday cake and frosting. If I’m going to splurge, it’s gotta be worth it… and cheesecake is totally worth it!  Do you have a favorite birthday splurge? I’d love to hear about it!

I’m going to go ahead and share the cheesecake recipe with you, but we haven’t actually made it yet.  But don’t worry, it’s tried and true! My mom makes this almost every year for Christmas and it’s a super simple recipe.  No crazy fancy ingredients here.  Perfect for a lazy birthday.

Lazy Birthday Cheesecake, makes 2 cheesecakes

Ingredients
2, 8oz packages cream cheese, softened
1, 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
3 eggs
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 homemade graham cracker crusts or store-bought
Optional: chocolate chips

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 300* F.  In large mixing bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy.  Add sweetened condensed milk and beat until smooth.  Add eggs and lemon juice, mix well. Pour into pie crust and sprinkle with chocolate chips if desired. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched.  Cool to room temperature and then refrigerate.

Coming Soon: Fall recipes featuring squash!

Last Year: Birthday Treat: Apple-Cinnamon Muffins

One thought on “Lazy Birthday Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

