Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal

Yesterday morning I got up before the sun to do some last-minute studying… my brain works better after a good sleep.  I  had plans to take the DTR (dietetic technician, registered) exam in Hampton at 9:30 a.m..  My nerves had gotten the best of me.  I could hardly eat breakfast – and that NEVER happens.  I was pretty certain I hadn’t studied enough.  Regardless, I went ahead as planned and took the exam… and I PASSED!  I already work as a dietetic technician in long-term care, only now I am registered, increasing my qualifications.  DTR’s can work in a variety of healthcare settings.  For more information on becoming a DTR, see the American Dietetic Associations website.

My career goals don’t end here though.  I did apply to dietetic internships and aspire to become a Registered Dietitian.  Next Sunday is match day, I’ll keep you updated!

So, my Halloween weekend started off with a nice treat!  What are your plans for the holiday?  Contrary to popular belief Dietitians, DTR’s, and dietetic interns don’t hate Halloween.
Here’s how I plan to enjoy the holiday…
Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal
adapted from: Super Natural Every Day  
Mix the dry and ingredients the night before to make this an easy breakfast.  Or, add a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt for dessert! With baked oatmeal available, who needs bread pudding!?
Dry Ingredients:
2 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
1 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp salt
Wet Ingredients:
2 cups fat-free milk
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (heaping!)
1 large egg
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled,
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup pure maple syrup, plus more for serving
Instructions:
  • Pre-heat the oven to 375*F, butter the inside of a square baking dish
  • In a bowl, mix together the dry ingredients, pour into baking dish.
  • In another bowl, whisk together 1 Tbsp of the butter and remaining wet ingredients
  • Slowly drizzle the wet ingredients over the oat mixture, until oats are completely moistened
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes or until liquid is mostly absorbed
  • Remove dish from oven and give a gentle stir to mix ingredients.  Drizzle remaining butter, 1 Tbsp of maple syrup, and a light sprinkle of cinnamon over the top.  Bake for 10-20 minutes or until top is nicely golden brown.
  • Remove from oven, let it cool for a few minutes and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

