Third Times a Charm

Last Sunday night, I was on the internet refreshing the page every 5 seconds. When time struck 7 PM, I hit refresh one last time, then shot Jacob a look, and he yelled “Wahoooo!! Wahoooo!”

I am super excited to announce that I am moving back to Michigan in January to be a dietetic intern at Central Michigan University.  This is the third time I’ve applied to internships. With dedication and the help of All Access Internships coaching, I’ve finally made the cut. Wahooo!! I know what I’m thankful for this year!

With all the excitement this week, I unfortunately did not have time to prepare a recipe for the blog.  Instead I’m sitting on the couch eating (too much) dark chocolate covered ginger and watching the movie Julie & Julia for blogging inspiration.

I’m planning on doing a series of posts for Thanksgiving recipes, so check back soon and send me your ideas! I totally ordered a 3 lb turkey breast at the grocery store today.  I’m the only one eating it.  I’m also thankful for the freezer!

Question: What is your favorite thanksgiving dish? Are you all about the turkey or are the side dishes more your thing? What are you thankful for this year?

8 thoughts on “Third Times a Charm

  1. Congratulations! Just stumbled upon your blog because I am due to take the DTR exam December 10th…feeling very nervous and dreading this studying. But it certainly is a great refresher of all the material I learned in my undergrad nutrition program. I also applied for internships this past February and unfortunately was not matched; simply because I do not have the work experience. My hope is to pass the DTR exam and finally start building that experience. Again, congratulations to you!

    –Priyanka

      • Hi Priyanka – Happy to have inspired hope! I am sorry to hear you did not get matched – I know first hand how difficult that is. But, if it’s what you want, don’t give up! It sounds like you are on the right path, the DTR credentials are great for gaining experience and a wonderful back up plan. Good luck to you!

  2. Congratulations on your internship acceptance. I remember my matching day well…but I had to wait to wait until 1 am to get my results and sleep was just out of the question bot before and after. You’ll be great! Best advice I ever got as an intern: wake up each day and make an conscious effort to put a smile on your face and say to yourself, “today is going to be a good day;” I did this and loved my internship experience. (PS – recent follower of your blog and so far I’m enjoying it!)

    • Thank you Jessica! I remember when it was 1 am, they changed it the first time I applied. I can imagine sleep would be impossible! I know I didn’t get much that night. Great advice! Thanks for sharing it. Happy to have you as a blog follower. I loved reading your story on your site.

  3. Congrats again Michelle! It’s near impossible to chose, but green bean casserole would have to be my favorite… I’m thankful for friends, family, and FOOD!

Leave a Reply

