Remembering 2011

Many new adventures lie in the year ahead and so it seemed time for a new and updated blog. Welcome! First, I’d like to take a look back at 2011.

Favorite 2011 Michelle’s Kitchen recipes…
Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal
Chilled Corn Soup with Roasted Red Peppers
Fish Tacos with Jicama Slaw and Cilantro Sauce 
Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes
Roasted Baby Broccoli 

My Quest for a Dietetic Internship…

I started 2011 working as a full-time healthcare cook and part-time Starbucks Barista.  However, I knew my resume and internship applications was going to need a boost.  In February 2011, I found employment as a Diet Tech in a long-term care/rehabilitation center. This was just the experience I needed. As the diet tech I completed all the clinical nutrition assessments for 120 patients (minus feeding tube calculations).  Over the summer months I became a Certified Dietary Manager and Dietetic Technician, Registered.  Then in November, I finally matched to a program at my Alma Mater, Central Michigan University.  You can read more about my story here.

New Discoveries…

Finally broke down and got an iPhone
Pinterest makes for wonderful procrastinating.
Whole Foods Market
Trader Joe’s Valencia Peanut Butter: crunchy + flax seeds = amazing.
Kath Eats Real Food 
thePlate community 

Coming Soon: New Year, New Blog

Leave a Reply

