Grocery Store Finds

Moving back to Michigan meant saying goodbye to some pretty amazing grocery stores, and hello again to my midwest stand by. But just because I can’t grind my own peanut butter here doesn’t mean I have no options. Here are some of my old and new favorites:

Frozen Veggies
Where can’t you buy these? Green beans are my favorite.
Quick dinner idea: whole-wheat spaghetti noodles, topped with tomato sauce, with a side of green beans.

Food Should Taste Good®: Multigrain Tortilla Chips
A serving size is about 10 chips, and they are yummy, so no eating straight from the bag! They are low in sodium (80mg/serving) and have a lovely nutty flavor.

Quick lunch idea: Place 10 chips on a microwave safe plate, top with a huge handful of spinach, a few halved cherry tomatoes, low sodium deli meat or beans, and a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese. Add an orange on the side for dessert.

Mini Babybel® Cheese
These are a new product for me. Bonus points – they were buy-one get-one free this week! So far I’ve tried the White Cheddar and it’s delicious. Try it paired with an apple for a filling mid-afternoon snack.

Old Fashioned Oatmeal
Thank goodness you can buy oatmeal just about anywhere, because it’s a staple around here! Coming Soon: a long overdue, “tribute to oatmeal” post.

That’s all for now. I’m sure there will be more fun food finds as I explore the stores!

*I was NOT paid, nor did I receive free samples to endorse these products. These are items I personally buy and eat.*

5 thoughts on “Grocery Store Finds

  1. That’s such a great lunch idea with those multigrain chips. We will have to try that some time! My go-to breakfast for a while last year was the mini babybel light cheese, wasa crackers, and a clementine/tangerine. I would peel the tangerine the night before and it all made the perfect on-the-go breakfast for my long commute in the am during that particular rotation :)

    Side note: You are going to have SO MUCH FUN and learn a ton during your internship! I can’t wait to read your posts!

  2. I love the Laughing Cow cheese wedges! They are so yummy :) We went out and got our 10 for $10 frozen veggies today! I’m so lazy, I hardly ever make fresh veggies, but frozen are almost just as good. I also cannot live without my Kroger brand yogurt. I don’t know what I would do if I moved somewhere that didn’t have Kroger… Ken would certainly be a wreck, since that’s the only chocolate milk he’ll drink. ;)

    • LOVE frozen veggies when I’m feeling lazy! I haven’t checked out the Kroger here yet, but I did make note of where it is :) Oh boy…Ken has a specific brand of chocolate milk?! That’s amazing :)

  3. Sounds good Michelle, I like your ideas for tortilla toppings…especially the spinach. I’m glad you were able to find some of your favorites in Michigan.

Leave a Reply

